Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Restricted funds and their control

We are non-profit just getting started with Desktop Pro
    Question is managing Restricted funds, earmarked for specific projects.
    The board looks at the checking account statement balance to see if they have money for a given project. My issue is that there are earmarked funds co-mingled in checking account.
    I think just getting a separate bank account for those restricted/earmarked funds may solve my problem and then using Jobs to track the projects or area the funds are intended for.
    Is there a better way or is my plan reasonable?

My general state of mind....
    "If you're not confused, you're not paying attention." Tom Peters

I am by no means an expert in non profits, but typically you have the general operating account and additional accounts per restricted donation

When spending on a restricted donation project, you transfer funds from the restricted bank account to the operating account and then pay the expense from the operating account.

This seems to be the accepted bible on QB and non profits
    https://www.barnesandnoble.com/p/run...oaAmN6EALw_wcB

Comment

Thank you, Rustler.
      I ordered the book you suggested.
      I look forward to reading it (I think).

Comment

From a GAAP viewpoint, since 1992 it is net assets that are restricted and not bank accounts. Government accounting, though, is still fund driven. Using the tools already provided by QuickBooks can greatly simplify QuickBooks entries and printing board reports.

Of course, I am assuming that your version of QuickBooks has the Job reporting capability as does the Premier version of QuickBooks for Nonprofits. Most not-for-profits can get the 2019 version of QuickBooks through Tech Soup for a one-time fee of $50. See https://www.techsoup.org/intuit?cg=lpintuit for more details