Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2004, 09:46 AM
Lisa Cejka Lisa Cejka is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2
Multiple Business

I am in the process of starting my own home bookkeeping business. I am researching for the best acccounting software to handle my business. I will be dealing with multiple companys (both accrual and cash basis) Can Quickbooks handle multiple businesses?

Thank you for your help!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2004, 01:37 PM
Joey Joey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 6,258
Yes it can. You set up separate company files for each business.
__________________
Joey
www.casdelraybeach.com
Certified Pro Advisor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2004, 03:02 PM
suzannemead suzannemead is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Woodbine, MD
Posts: 5,377
Will your clients be using the QB system so you are trading the file back & forth? Or will you be the only one with access? If trading you must be using the same QB program,scuh as QB Basi, QB Pr. There won't be interchangeable.
__________________
Suzanne M. - "Better Books"
Certified Quickbooks ProAdvisor in Pro.,Prem. & Enterprise
suzannemead@msn.com / suzannemead@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2004, 03:10 PM
Joey Joey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 6,258
You must have the same Year Version (2003, 2004 etc.) that your clients have and be on the same update release. If you are going to be exchanging files with clients, you will need to have the Premier or Premier Accountant's Version on your computer. It will read any of the other flavors (Basic, Pro, etc.) of that year's porgram. You won't be able to read a client's Pro or Premier files with the Basic version on your machine.
You also cannot intermingle the years. If you open a client's 2003 file with your 2004 program, you will convert his data file and his computer will no longer read his own data when you return it to him. Clients get really grumpy about being forced to upgrade before they're ready.
__________________
Joey
www.casdelraybeach.com
Certified Pro Advisor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2004, 09:22 AM
Lisa Cejka Lisa Cejka is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2
Thank you for the great info. This helps me to determine the best software to purchase for my services. I think QB is the answer! Has anyone experienced any conflicts with other programs that are loaded, such as MS Money or certain virus protection software?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2004, 10:29 AM
Joey Joey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 6,258
Yes, many people have conflicts when Backing up files and sometimes update downloads if Norton Anti Virus is running. I use Mcafee and haven't had any problems. I use all versions since 6.0 on both an XP and a Windows 98 2nd Edition computer. Also, the larger your computer's memory, the better it will run. But that is true for any software. This program is especially hungry for memory.
__________________
Joey
www.casdelraybeach.com
Certified Pro Advisor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.