Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Australia / Reckon Accounts Forum

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 14 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 01:51 AM

Bad Debt Write Off

I found this attachment on the internet on how to write off bad debts, it is so much easier than doing journals etc. I spoke to my accountant and she said it is perfectly fine to do it this way and that she did not know about this way and agrees it is much easier, so read and follow instructions, it makes life nice and easy.

wendy
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Handling Bad Debts in QuickBooks.pdf (461.9 KB, 3907 views)
Old 07-03-2012, 01:15 AM

Thanks for taking the trouble to post this advice Wendy. I have been using the recommended method for several years and it works a treat.
QuickBooks Premier 2012-13
Old 07-05-2012, 06:01 AM

Thanks

This is a positive contribution Wendy. It is a great help. Thanks for sharing mate
Old 03-14-2013, 05:08 PM

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendy Mccoy View Post
I found this attachment on the internet on how to write off bad debts, it is so much easier than doing journals etc. I spoke to my accountant and she said it is perfectly fine to do it this way and that she did not know about this way and agrees it is much easier, so read and follow instructions, it makes life nice and easy.

wendy
Hi Wendy; What is the best way to write bad debt off for previous years 2009, 2010, and 2011 ? for example can write a bad-debt off from 2010 in 2013. I do not think I can collect them anymore.
thanks
Old 03-27-2013, 12:48 AM

Because the bad debt is more than a year old should make not diff.
Old 03-27-2013, 08:13 AM

thanks Wendy, take care.
Lewis
Old 04-18-2013, 03:37 PM

Cash account

The method you are using seems to only apply to accrual account so you have a simple way to write off bad debt for cash accounting?