Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Forum

Old 04-18-2012, 02:00 PM

Clearing reconcile list???

I would like to do some housekeeping and can't find any way to delete entries from the reconcile list that are years old!!

Any ideas would be welcomed!!

Thanks... Bummie
Old 04-18-2012, 08:32 PM

If you are talking about outstanding items on your bank reconciliation which are years old, then the only way to remove them is to enter a journal entry in the current year off-setting the entry to the original g/l account which was charged.

Note:-
A part of doing a bank reconciliation is to question any uncleared item each time you preform a bank rec. And removing in a timely manner any item which should not be there.
Old 04-19-2012, 01:43 AM

Newbie here :)

Hi i am one the newbie here

My name is Donald Reese

Hoping to hear a lot from you guys!

Thank you!
Old 04-19-2012, 03:22 AM

Question: Have the transactions cleared the bank (is the balance of the register correct)?
The answer to the question makes BIG difference on "how to clear" the transactions in reconcile.
Old 04-19-2012, 10:05 AM

Thanks for the replies.

Yes the entries have cleared the bank. Some of these are years old and I have just been ignoring them..... but they are starting to pile up!!!

I know the reconciliation should be done in a timely matter ..... but bookeeping is my fifth or sixth job so it kinda takes the back burner. Really I only do it when forced to.... taxes, etc!! I must try to be more diligent!!
Old 04-19-2012, 08:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bummie View Post
Thanks for the replies.

Yes the entries have cleared the bank. Some of these are years old and I have just been ignoring them..... but they are starting to pile up!!!