Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2011, 05:42 PM
Paladin46 Paladin46 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Question Can't Resore from Local Backup File

Howdy -

When I try to restore a Quick Books 2010 Pro local back up file I follow this guide -


1.If your backup file is not on your hard disk - It Is on my Desk Top as a .QBB file

2.In QuickBooks, go to the File menu and click Open or Restore Company to open the restore wizard. - OK

3.Click Restore a backup copy (.qbb) and then click Next. - OK

4.Click Local backup and then click Next. The Open Backup Copy window opens. - OK

5.If needed, click the Look in drop-down arrow and navigate to the location where you saved the backup file, which has a .qbb file extension (for example, mycompanyname.qbb). -OK

6.Select the backup file and click Open. - OK

7.Click Next.- OK

8.If needed, click the Save in drop-down arrow and navigate to the location where you want to restore the backup file.

When I do this I go to C: then Program Files to Intuit to Quick Books 2010 - I than do no get a company to open I Get 4 choices - Components, Convert03, Data or Help Resourceses - what am I doing wrong. With only these 4 choices I can not go on to Number 9.

9.Select the backup file, click Save, and respond to any
messages QuickBooks may display
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2011, 05:53 PM
Shannon Tucker's Avatar
Shannon Tucker Shannon Tucker is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 595
Your company backup could be anywhere on your hard drive. Find all of them by clicking Windows Start / Search / *.QBB

That will search for all QuickBooks backup files. Hopefully it will find the one you are looking for. Then when you go through the steps to restore a backup, navigate to the correct folder on your hard drive and QB should see it there.
__________________
Shannon Tucker
719.395.8750
email: tucker at accountingusers.com

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2011, 04:28 AM
Joe Williams Joe Williams is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,851
When you navigate to "C:\ Program Files\Intuit\QuickBooks 2010" double click the QBW.EXE file and open QB using one of the sample files. Noe you should be able to restore your backup.
__________________
Joe Williams
joewilliams@wavelinx.net
Piedmont, Ok
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2011, 12:48 PM
Paladin46 Paladin46 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks Guys - I'll give it a try this pm and let you know what happens - For Info Only I have my backup copy saved to the desk top I just can not get to the current quickbooks file to restore it too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2011, 07:44 AM
Paladin46 Paladin46 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Restoring QB

Howdy - Tried it and still no go. When I navigate to "C:\ Program Files\Intuit\QuickBooks 2010" all that comes up is: Components, Convert03, Data or Help Resourceses no company file to choose from. I have 2 co. that I use QB for and I can not get either one to restore. I get the same results wheather I start with an open or closed co file. Any other sugestions please.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2011, 12:41 AM
cojhl2 cojhl2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado, SE Washington
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paladin46 View Post
Howdy -



When I do this I go to C: then Program Files to Intuit to Quick Books 2010 - I than do no get a company to open I Get 4 choices - Components, Convert03, Data or Help Resourceses - what am I doing wrong. With only these 4 choices I can not go on to Number 9.
What you are getting at this point is what is already at that location. It is your responsibility to input What ever you wish to name the new Company file.
__________________
Colorado Springs and Waitsburg, Washington
QB Pro 2014 used for two farms and personal
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2011, 05:31 AM
Joe Williams Joe Williams is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,851
Hold down the Ctrl key and keep it down when you double click the QuickBooks shortcut. Keep it down until QB opens and you get No Company Open screen. Go to File and Restore and navigate to the Desktop and choose the backup there. When it ask/shows the file location it is for the restored data so set the location to My Documents and click OK. It should restore the data.
__________________
Joe Williams
joewilliams@wavelinx.net
Piedmont, Ok
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2011, 12:18 PM
Paladin46 Paladin46 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks

Thanks - I'll try to restore this PM and let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-29-2011, 10:53 AM
Paladin46 Paladin46 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Talking Dode

That got it - thanks for all the help - 5 years of data was not something I wanted to loose.

Thanks again,

Paladin46
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2011, 03:34 PM
Joe Williams Joe Williams is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,851
Glad to help.
__________________
Joe Williams
joewilliams@wavelinx.net
Piedmont, Ok
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.