Advertise    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:45 PM
cdmccul cdmccul is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 36
Invoice creation and Item List

I'm new to our set of part numbers here at work... orders come in as writen estimates or other documents, and the product the customer wants is described as a long hand description, not a part number. So, till I get used to our common part numbers, I click on Item, and do a search. This works well for me, and I'm slowly getting it... but one thing I'm looking to do is that if I'm in an invoice creating one, and I click into the Item menu, if I select an Item from the list, it doesn't automatically propegate into the Invoice I'm working on.

Is there any way to do that?
__________________
Cean McCullough
QuickBooks Pro 2011, R6P
Windows XP SP3
Old Gateway box

Ask me about Car Repair!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2010, 03:39 PM
qbqcca qbqcca is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 811
This may sound a little basic, but the item information will only be displayed on the invoice once you leave the item field, by pressing the tab key or by clicking on the next field.
__________________
Bookkeepers are well balanced!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2010, 05:30 PM
cdmccul cdmccul is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by qbqcca View Post
This may sound a little basic, but the item information will only be displayed on the invoice once you leave the item field, by pressing the tab key or by clicking on the next field.
Yup, I've found that out... but what I'm looking to do is to look up an item using the Item button (screen?) and then once I find it there, have it populate the invoice where I was working before clicking on the Item button.
__________________
Cean McCullough
QuickBooks Pro 2011, R6P
Windows XP SP3
Old Gateway box

Ask me about Car Repair!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2010, 09:21 AM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
There's no way to go from the item list and have it populate the invoice. You have to select the item from within the invoice.

Now, you could copy and paste the item code.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2010, 10:49 AM
cdmccul cdmccul is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisa_mn View Post
There's no way to go from the item list and have it populate the invoice. You have to select the item from within the invoice.

Now, you could copy and paste the item code.
Bummer it doesn't work the other way around, but no big deal. I need to be able to work with the item codes mentally anyways. Copy and paste wouldn't be too bad, I may try to see how it goes with highlighting, etc. I only see cut and paste to be a time saver if it can all be done from the keyboard (for small stuff like this)...

Thank you for your suggestions
__________________
Cean McCullough
QuickBooks Pro 2011, R6P
Windows XP SP3
Old Gateway box

Ask me about Car Repair!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2010, 04:55 PM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
Do you know about the keyboard shortcuts Ctrl-C for copy and Ctrl-V for paste?
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2010, 11:35 PM
cdmccul cdmccul is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisa_mn View Post
Do you know about the keyboard shortcuts Ctrl-C for copy and Ctrl-V for paste?
Oh yes, from a PC perspective, I'm a power user or better... That's why I'm confused as to why I can't get QuickBooks to do some things.
__________________
Cean McCullough
QuickBooks Pro 2011, R6P
Windows XP SP3
Old Gateway box

Ask me about Car Repair!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.