Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-24-2010, 08:45 AM

Setup for Owner Operator Truck Driver

I am an owner operator truck driver leased to a company. I am entering my pay settlements using sales receipts using the gross income as an income and then any deductions using negative numbers and other expenses.

2 Things I need to figure out how to accomplish and the best way to do so.

The first is the company I am leased to also owns a truck repair center so all of my work is done there. They invoice me and then later take payments as deductions out of my check.

How do I enter this on a sales receipt I cannot directly transfer funds to the Account Receivable account and if I create a petty cash account since this is a negative on the sales receipt it causes the cash account to have a negative balance and thus still can't apply payment to the invoice.

The 2nd issue is along the same lines I also have a fuel card from the company that I can use in situations where I cannot take an advance or am somewhere that couldn't get me the money anyways. The fuel card usage is then deducted from my paycheck as well. So if I enter my all of my fuel purchases then it will double record for purchases where I used the card. Again what is the best way to track this and keep this from happening.
Old 01-24-2010, 02:18 PM

I do books for several owner-operators so I think I understand what you are talking about. I enter the weekly (or whatever ) settlement using general ledger entries. For example: