Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 21 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2008, 01:44 PM
authority authority is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
setup question - multi-user & multi-company

Hello everyone - this is my first post.

We have three users, sharing three different company files (one person at a time). We decided to upgrade to multi- user QuickBooks Pro 2009 (3-User).

The problem we're running into is it seems only one company file at a time is actually multi user. In other words, if the machine that's sharing is in company "A" the other two users can't be in company "B". Am I correct that this is a product limitation?

Would the "solution" be to have each of our three users computers sharing a different company file to get around this limitation?

Also - what's up with Intuit support trying to charge me for installation support when it says on their web site free 12-months phone support?

"For 12 months from the date of your initial software registration1, we will help you with: Installation: Successfully install QuickBooks software products and services for the first time or re-install on a replacement computer (online or disk installation)."

https://qbsupport.intuit.com/qb/free-phone-support.do

Last edited by authority; 10-29-2008 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:18 PM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
So what happens when user 1 is in company A and user 2 tries to open company B? Do you get any type of error message?

Are all the company files stored on user 1's workstation or are they on a server?


As for the support issue - did you refer the person you were talking to to the page you cite here? You should ask to speak to someone higher up the chain. That's just silly. Maybe you just need to register first? It does say for "registered users".
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree

Last edited by lisa_mn; 10-29-2008 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:36 PM
authority authority is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
So apparently it's a limitation of the software that it can only share ONE company file at a time - which makes it useless for me.

As for support, that's no longer free I guess it's an old page.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:39 PM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
That can't possibly be. There are a gajillion CPA firms out there, sharing multiple files. I can't believe that would fly.

I'm going to call my ProAdvisor tech support and see what they say.

Tell me your set up - is it a peer-to-peer network or do you have a server?
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:51 PM
authority authority is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisa_mn View Post
That can't possibly be. There are a gajillion CPA firms out there, sharing multiple files. I can't believe that would fly.

I'm going to call my ProAdvisor tech support and see what they say.

Tell me your set up - is it a peer-to-peer network or do you have a server?
Yes it's p2p. To clairify, the issue (that I think I have confirmed with support) is that the "host" (the machine sharing QuickBooks in multi-user mode) can only share the company file that is open. Other files can be open in single user mode but not multiple user mode. The other issue is that there can only be one "host" on the network at a time.

As I understand it, only ONE company can be open in multi-user mode on a Lan at a time. If I'm mistaken that would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2008, 03:30 PM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by authority View Post
As I understand it, only ONE company can be open in multi-user mode on a Lan at a time. If I'm mistaken that would be great.

OK - My guy said that's not true. And I asked him a couple of times...he confirmed that you can share more than one company file at a time in multi-user mode.

He said to make sure that hosting is only turned on at the workstation where the data files live. You can press F2 and at the bottom under local server information, you'll see if hosting is "local files only" or Off. Make sure it's off on the other two workstations. To turn it on and off, go to File, Utilities and you'll see the turn on or turn off multi-user hosting (depending on if it's currently on or off)

Sometimes I've run into cases where the QB file needs to be opened on the host before it can be accessed by others, so that's another thing to try.

Let me know how it goes.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2010, 12:41 AM
rawandnet rawandnet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Fist I would like to thank you all for your replyes.

I have done the following.

I have three machines A, B, C.
A set to Multi user mode (ask as a hosting machine, server)
B and C turned off Multi user (it is single mode)

only one client can connect, if another try it will show error message

(((Quickbook is unable open company file.
it may have been opened by another user. you should ask that user to switch to multi-user mode so you can both use the company file at the same time (-6073,-99001).))))

even when i set all computer to multi mode still i get same error.

i have even scanned the file on the multi mode mchange, which creates ND file with the ip of that computer and ServerPort=10180, and server mode=1.

what else can i do?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2010, 05:48 AM
JZeiger JZeiger is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
You need to set up the network and the QB installations properly - see:
http://www.cpa911.com/read_article.asp?ID=255
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2010, 07:49 AM
rawandnet rawandnet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
I have installed QB properly and shared folders with full previlage including disabled firewall. just incase.
could you tell me if i am wrong
1- the host server must be multi mode
2- client machine must be single mode.
3- created database file under single mode.
4- i have 10 licence, but i haven't registered it online, i just want to make sure it works first, (does this affect?).

is that is correct?

i have gone through the steps more that 10 times, I don't know why it is not working for me, it shouldn't be that difficut. I am a network administrator and I am sure that network is not the problem point.

any idea will be helpfull

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2010, 01:43 PM
JZeiger JZeiger is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
No, you're confused about your single mode and multi mode settings - the QB wordings are confusing - read the article referred to earlier.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.
You Rated this Thread: