Advertise    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-22-2008, 08:03 AM

Month End Closings

Hi All!

I have QB Pro 2008. How would I do month end closings on QB. Is there an option for this? I am new at this, and not quite sure how to do this.

Thanks!
Old 09-22-2008, 09:53 AM

Normally you don't have to do anything as the program does what it needs. If you have special circumstances that require month end accruals or adjustments then you may need to enter them manually.
The program is designed and is based on reports. You can create reports for any time period of your choice and it has preset time periods like, This Month, Last Month, This Year, etc. Quickbooks will close out the income and expense accounts at the end of the year into Retained Earnings.
Old 09-22-2008, 02:28 PM

Oh, sounds good. So, there really is nothing that needs to be done except for the circumstances you mentioned. Is there an "at a glance" report I can view to see that the month end books have been closed?
Old 09-22-2008, 03:43 PM

Well, if you do a P&L for a month, and then do one for the following month that is just starting you will see that the numbers did not carry over. I'm not sure what you want to see or what you are thinking when you say "closed". Like i said, Quickbooks is report driven. You can create reports for any time frame and get the numbers to date, except after the end of a year. The Income and expense accounts start over each new year.
Old 09-22-2008, 04:50 PM

Month end close

You are apparently used to Peachtree or some other program that restricts the period into which you can enter transactions. QuickBooks never closes any period. I have clients that have live data back to the early 90's. This is one of the great benefits of QuickBooks. Nothing ever closes. QuickBooks is date driven.