Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-26-2008, 02:16 PM

Invoicing for deposits...

I'm an interior designer. I need to give my client a bid for a simple job: a window treatment. Within this job are: my design hours, the cost of fabrication labor, the cost of fabric, the cost of installation and sales tax on some of these items. At the time I'm required to produce the bid for my client, I am not yet in posession of the final, exact pricing for each item. But I am prepared to commit to a fixed bid price. In this circumstance, I invoice my client for a deposit and have it placed in a virtual, liability sub-account of my business bank account until I know the exact quantities. The only way that I then know to allocate that deposit amount to the correct 'items' and 'accounts', for my records once the final numbers come in, is to re-invoice, ending the invoice with an allocated payment from their previous deposit (sitting in a liability account), in the same amount as the new invoice total, leaving it as a zero balance and thus allocating the funds correctly within my books. My concern is that this seems rather convoluted. Also, if I send my client a monthly statement, they will see unfamiliar invoices with strange zero balances. Should I be approaching this completely differently?
Old 02-02-2008, 09:38 PM

Send a message via AIM to JTAlves Send a message via Yahoo to JTAlves
Ruth,

I am not sure if this helps you but...
We are a small architecture and interior design firm and face the same problem that I THINK you are referring to. This may not work for you and we might be doing this wrong from an accountant's viewpoint, but it seems to work for us and is less convoluted than your approach.