Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Enterprise Edition Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2007, 09:24 AM
slobizman slobizman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Can I convert from 2005 Pro Win to new version of QB Mac?

My son is using QB Pro 2005. We all getting tired of Windows and are one of the masses thinking of moving to a Mac. It makes sense for a young guy anyway for a variety of reasons. Anyways if we purchase a new Mac, will we be able to get his existing data over to the Mac version with no problems? Any features missing?

Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2007, 11:35 AM
PetC PetC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 98
Getting data from the Windows computer to the Mac computer poses a bunch of questions. Some QB products don't have Mac versions or is he thinking of going to one of these fantastic Macs with the Intel chipset that allows working in both Windows and OS-X? I am using QB Pro 2007 on a MacBook Pro using their Bootcamp utility that provides booting in either operating system - Win XP Pro or Macs OS-X. Works just fine with no limitations. I am a Mac convert. My Windows crashes several times a week. The Mac side has crashed only once in a year.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2007, 11:44 AM
slobizman slobizman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks for your response.

He would go to whatever Mac he required.

Tell me about the Intel Mac. Does it really take whatever is running on his PC and allow it to be installed on it and run perfectly in a Windows environment? Do these windows programs run side-by side with the Mac programs, or do you need to switch environments or reboot. Doe sit run Vista -only programs or just XP programs?

That all sounds great, but aside from that, if I wanted to move the data to a true Mac version of the software, does anyone know if I would be able to do it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2007, 06:07 PM
PetC PetC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 98
Your questions about running Intel chiped Macs can best be answered by Googleing Mac Bootcamp (or Boot Camp) and Parallels, to name a few of the keywords. The short answer is with Bootcamp you have the option of selecting which OS you want to work in and the whole system is dedicated for that. If you use Parallels, you can run Windows and Mac OS-X side by side and generally work on whatever programs you want. I am no expert in these things so look online. As this is not an OS forum, sorry I digressed.
I can't answer your question about QB on a Mac. I know Intuit does not provide a QB Canadian version for the Mac but **maybe** the American version does.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2007, 01:40 PM
slobizman slobizman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
I see that the only Mac version listed on QB's site is QB Pro 2007 Mac. So I still would like to ask my question, with a little more specificity: will we be able to convert the QB Pro 2005 Win files to the QB Pro 2007 Mac?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2007, 01:53 PM
slobizman slobizman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
I just called Intuit and got the answer. No, it will not convert. I must have the data on QB 2007 Win first, then I can move it over to the QB 2007 Mac. I guess my acct could convert the PC 2005 to PC 2007 for me, then I can import that to the Mac 2007 QB. Whew.

He did mention that the Mac version has less functionality, particularly in PR, which we don't use, and some problems with online banking.

They better get with it on the Mac, as more and more die-hard PC guys like me are considering making the change.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.