Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2007, 06:13 AM
motorworks2 motorworks2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Changing vendor name to employee list?

I just took over the books at a small company and the previous person, for some unknown reason, had three employees listed as a vendor and only one listed as an employee. We do not use quickbooks payroll just track what we pay these hourly employees each time they get a check. How do I change these people from the vendor list to the employee list and keep all the history?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2007, 07:27 AM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
If you're not using QB payroll, I would have the employees in the vendor list if they're getting checks.

With a payroll service, I don't bother tracking any "history" in QB as the payroll reports have all that info.

Do you use a service or manually do payroll yourself?

To answer the question, you can't change a vendor to an employee, you'd have to create a new entry in the employee list and the name has to be different than the one in the vendor list. Sometimes people will put -v or -exp after the employee name in the vendor list since they may get paychecks and regular checks for expense reimbursements and the like.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2007, 04:54 AM
motorworks2 motorworks2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
We do use a payroll service so I would not really need to track payroll in QB. Now, how would I move the person that was set up as an employee to a vendor and keep the transaction history?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2007, 08:11 AM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
What type of transaction history? paychecks or regular checks? If they're just regular checks you can add the person to the vendor list and then edit the checks to pay the vendor instead of the employee.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2007, 04:46 AM
motorworks2 motorworks2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
These are payroll checks and we just debit our checking account for the net amount of the employees check. Our payroll processing company furnishes us with the other supporting documentation, i.e, taxes, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2007, 07:17 AM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
Yes, but in QB are they actual "PAY CHK" type transactions and not regular "CHK" type transactions? Look in the check register and you'll see the transaction type. If they are PAY CHKs then you can't change the name to the vendor name.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2007, 04:18 AM
motorworks2 motorworks2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
They are regular CHK in the register.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2007, 08:14 AM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,871
OK, then you can just pull each one up and change to the vendor name instead of the employee name.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.
You Rated this Thread: