Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Old 01-30-2007, 01:03 PM

Installing QuickBooks Pro and have 2003 Quickbooks

Hello

I'm doing some work for someone and they need Quickbooks Pro installed. Well they currently have Quickbooks Pro edition 2003. And I'm new to the entire Quickbooks scene...

Before I finalize the installation I need to make sure that the current data on the system can be imported in either in whole or in parts?

Thanks for your assistance on this matter.

Maranda
Old 01-30-2007, 01:32 PM

If you are instaling QuickBooks 2006 or 2007, after installing just open the old file. QuickBooks starts you will get a backup message. You can make it to hte hard drive. It is just a safty precaution so if you lose power or something else happens in update there is a known backup.
Old 01-30-2007, 02:08 PM

Thanks for your response. So it will import the original company that is running on 2003? Is it possible to do parts?? The client stated that when they first started using Quickbooks they put some funky data in... which I'm assuming they don't want in the new version -- so if they do state they want to start fresh how would I Import parts of the data from 2003?

Just wondering -- Do I need to make a backup of all the data before I do the installation?

Thanks
Old 01-30-2007, 03:00 PM

When in doubt, ALWAYS make a backup!!!

You could open the old file in 2007. . then, if you want to start a clean file, you could save a backup (of course). . .then do a 'condense and remove all transactions' and have the 'shell' to work with. . .enter your year end trial balance, outstanding checks/deposits/bills/invoices (not as easy as it sounds if you haven't done it before, but definitely do-able. . .)