Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Old 09-05-2006, 03:01 PM

Question Reversing General Journal Entries

I am new to Quickbooks but not a novice when it comes to accounting software. I am baffled by the fact that I cannot use the Reverse General Journal Entry function as it is greyed out in Quickbooks. I therefore have to resort to writing manual jnls. I cannot find any help topic on this anywhere and I have tried the Quickbooks help menu, Google and searched Forums

I do not want to use Void General Journal Function as it has period implications, please help.
Old 09-05-2006, 03:27 PM

In the US versions, you need to have the Premier Accountant's Version of the program to use the Reverse JE feature, I think. I don't know about the other countries.
Old 09-07-2006, 02:22 PM

Joey's Right

Thanks Joey

You know what you're talking about. I had to download the trial versions for Quickbooks Pro and then Premier to find out that the Reverse General Journal feature is only available on Premier.

What beats me is how does quickbooks present an audit trail when you can void transactions in other periods even when the audit trail preference is setup. As for myself I can manually do the journal but this program is supposed to be setup for at least a mediorce user with a knowledge of accounts.

This means that the only choice to maintain clean books with this program if a mistake is made is to manually write a reversing entry. Correct me if I'm wrong

Thanks for the help Joey, Cheers
Old 09-07-2006, 02:52 PM

I have never used the versions other than the US version but the way ours is designed, you only have to use Journal Entries for things like Depreciation and Amortization and other transactions that do not use company funds.
For most everything else there is an actual imput screen.