Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Forum

Old 07-08-2005, 05:14 PM

Partial Payments and matching lump deposits?

Hello Quickbook gurus. Newbie bookkeeper here for a animation company (I'm a animator and i'm doing the books, scary i know). I have two questions that continue to vex me in regard to quickbooks.

1.) Lets say you have recieved half of a payment from a client for services, and the lowlife client disappears or goes under, how do you mark the remainder of the amount owed to you in quickbooks as "never going to get it" or something of the sort. I don't want to void the invoice or delete it, becasue we did recieve some of the payment, but not all. But were probably not going to get the 2nd half.

2.) say you have gotten a bunch of checks in and you deposit them at the bank. These show up as one transaction on the online banking items i download from my bank. The problem is in the check ledger they show up as multiple checks, making them impossible to do the matching function with (cause I can only match one to one, not one to many). Is ther any way to match one online bank transation/deposit to many deposits in the check ledger?

thanks for you help
-chad
Old 07-09-2005, 07:34 AM

Hi Chad,
1. First, we need to know what you did with the down payment when you deposited that. Did you put that into a Customer Deposits, Current Liability account or did you do an Invoice for the Job/Sale and apply it? Where is it right now? (I know that it's in the bank)

2. Your individual payments should be going into Undeposited Funds first and then they are matched and grouped with the deposits that contain each one. Is that what you are doing?
Old 07-14-2005, 01:53 PM

joey- thanks for responding, heres what i did:

1.)the downpayment was applied in the recive payments screen to the gig, so yes, the money is in the bank.