Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Forum

Old 06-09-2002, 08:52 AM

vendors sales tax

I have just started using quickbooks 2002 premier, for my companies accountancy solutions.I am no expert with this but am finding it very rewarding to what it has to offer, we startes to use it just to track sales made (invoices,despatch notes etc).

I decided to input all our data made so far, from the beginning of the year - including all things purchased via vendors, only this is where i became unstuck -

1, do i input items purchased/paid for as a bill or credit

2, how do i setup quickbooks to track sales tax paid, and get it to show on the final balance sheet

ive managed to setup quickbooks to track sales tax we receive - but i cant seem to get it to track sales tax weve paid out.

using the help feature didnt seem to help much either - i tried to set up a new account in "chart of accounts" as tax paid but i couldnt get this to work either.

if anyone out there could give me a solution to this i would be very grateful.

thanx steve
Old 06-09-2002, 12:00 PM

You're making it harder than it needs to be. The sales tax you pay for things are included in the price of whatever you are paying for. It's not supposed to be broken out separately. You only track the sales tax you collect on your sales so you can pay it over to your state.
Old 06-09-2002, 12:11 PM

If you are going to be using the Enter Bills feature to enter things you purchase, then be sure to use the Pay Bills feature. If you don't need to enter bills first, then just use the Write Checks screen to enter the checks directly.
Old 06-09-2002, 01:27 PM

thanx for that joey - but im from the uk and sales tax is included in the things i purchase but they are seperated.This is the vat(value added tax).I need to see them seperated so i can work out the difference between the two, hence knowing how much to pay to the government

steve