Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2005, 01:38 PM
lynter lynter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 23
Credit to Paid Invoice

I sold some equipment to my customer and invoiced them for it. They paid the invoice and then decided that they had ordered an incorrect item. They returned it to me and I issued a credit memo for the return.
How do I apply the credit in my deposits? The credit amounts show up in my "Apply Existing credits?" in my Customer Payment window, but I want to apply the credit to the original invoice, not any other job.
Thanks.

Last edited by lynter; 06-09-2005 at 02:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2005, 04:55 PM
suzannemead suzannemead is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Woodbine, MD
Posts: 5,377
Yopu can't apply a credit to a paid invoice. You can issue them a check or apply the credit to another open invoice.
__________________
Suzanne M. - "Better Books"
Certified Quickbooks ProAdvisor in Pro.,Prem. & Enterprise
suzannemead@msn.com / suzannemead@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2005, 09:50 AM
Joey Joey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 6,258
Suzanne's correct. Think about it. If the original invoice is already paid, you would have to UNPAY it first, apply the credit memo, then repay the invoice. This would cause an overpayment in the amount of the credit memo that you would have to apply to a new invoice or refund to the customer. That is where you already are now. Just apply the credit to another invoice or refund the money.
__________________
Joey
www.casdelraybeach.com
Certified Pro Advisor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2005, 11:42 AM
lynter lynter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 23
I can't refund the money. They have sent me a check which covers several other invoices and have deducted the credit from that check. I can't apply the credit to open invoices because my books wouldn't balance. How can I post the deposit?
I just found this response on a previous post to someone else. Will this work?

"You can add it to your deposit, with the customer name in the Received from, Accounts Receivable in the From Account and the negative amount. This will take care of the credit balance on the customer account and reduce your CC deposit.

Last edited by lynter; 06-10-2005 at 12:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2005, 01:46 PM
Joey Joey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 6,258
You have several open invoices and a credit on the customer's account. You have a check for the invoices less the credit memo. On the Receive Payments screen, check off the all invoices being paid with the check and it will leave a balance due on the last invoice because the check is not enough money to pay them all. Then click on the Apply Existing Credits button and Set Credits and apply the existing credit to the invoice that is left and it will clear it out. Done. You're trying to fight with it and it's really not hard to do.
__________________
Joey
www.casdelraybeach.com
Certified Pro Advisor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2005, 03:42 PM
lynter lynter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 23
I must be dumb. It still will not work because the credit is a different job from the invoices that were paid. I went into my "Receive Payments", clicked on the invoices that were paid (for two seperate jobs), went into the next job where the credit was, and clicked on "Apply Credits". When I went into the "Make Deposit" screen, only the invoices I had selected were there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2005, 09:46 AM
Joey Joey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 6,258
Just change the credit memo to a job with an open balance and then apply it.
Or, go back to my original answer and UN do the original payment (after deleting the deposit that included it), applying the credit memo and then splitting the original payment between the two jobs and re-entering the deposit you deleted. You'll have to re-reconcile the deposit if you have already cleared it previously.
__________________
Joey
www.casdelraybeach.com
Certified Pro Advisor

Last edited by Joey; 06-11-2005 at 09:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2005, 10:44 AM
suzannemead suzannemead is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Woodbine, MD
Posts: 5,377
If I remember correctly QB didn't let you go to the Customer to pull up all the jobs. I think you had to go to the individual job to apply the payment. That may why you are confused. Later editions let you go to the Customer and then Receive Payment to apply to any open jobs. Do what Joey says and change the credit to another open job & that should work. You can always make a note that the credit was from a certain job if you need to.
__________________
Suzanne M. - "Better Books"
Certified Quickbooks ProAdvisor in Pro.,Prem. & Enterprise
suzannemead@msn.com / suzannemead@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:49 PM
lynter lynter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 23
Thank you for all of your help. I finally fixed it. Joey, I almost put my laptop in the car and drove up to your office which about 10 minutes from me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2005, 09:20 AM
Joey Joey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 6,258
Cool

That would work also. Or you could just be lazy and e-mail it.
__________________
Joey
www.casdelraybeach.com
Certified Pro Advisor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.
You Rated this Thread: