Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > Premier Nonprofit Edition Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2017, 02:17 PM
erborders erborders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6
Switching from QB on line to desktop

I am a current user of QB On Line using a MAC. I work for a non-profit operating foundation. I am considering purchasing the Premier Nonprofit Edition and using a program on my MAC that allows a PC platform. Has anyone done this? If so, was it a satisfactory working platform. Or would I be better off to purchase a PC to set up the QB?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2017, 05:16 AM
Rustler Rustler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas - The Republic
Posts: 2,224
Parallels, or other windows emulators on a mac, work and there are some that have no problems with QB running on that emulator. I would consider the age and speed of the Mac, since running that emulator first is an additional processing load and has its own system requirements

BUT
the export to desktop (US Only) provides you with a file that must be opened in desktop within 10 days, and the file has known problems, some things do not export, inventory exports as service items with no history, payroll if you have it is exported as regular paychecks, these known problems have existed for over 8 years
https://community.intuit.com/article...rt-limitations

print out the QBO P&L, balance sheet, inventory valuation summary (if you have inventory), and sales tax liability as a minimum, compare the QBO reports to the same reports in desktop after you have a desktop company file - they must match, if not you have to find and correct the problems, intuit will not help

IMO if at all possible, it would be better to just re-enter all transactions in desktop

how to go from QBO to QBDT
https://community.intuit.com/article...ine-to-desktop
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2017, 07:01 AM
erborders erborders is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6
Thank you for the feedback. Can you recommend a windows emulator? We are also purchasing a new Mac. We do not run payroll and have no inventory. We are a non-profit retreat center, so hopefully, I will not lose any records.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2017, 04:08 AM
Rustler Rustler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas - The Republic
Posts: 2,224
No, sorry I can not, I have no experience with Mac, just mentioning parallels because on another forum some folks have mentioned it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.