Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2017, 07:47 AM
Bill Gable Bill Gable is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
QB Accountant Desktop 2016 Job Costing

I want to be able to assess job profitability - we are assigning hours worked to a job (passed from TSheets) and assign external expenses to jobs. Don't understand how to assign labor costs to the employee hours being posted to jobs. We DO NOT run our payroll through QuickBooks.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2017, 08:46 AM
BooksInVA BooksInVA is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 53
How are you entering your payroll into QB then? If job costing is turned on, you should have an option to assign the job when you enter the payroll.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2017, 11:15 AM
Bill Gable Bill Gable is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
We don't do payroll in QuickBooks. Here are the apps we use:

TSheets - time card entry and reporting; integrated with QuickBooks so time is assigned to Customers/Jobs, and then imported into QB so the time is posted to a job

Paylocity - used to prepare and process payroll; summary time entries entered manually from TSheets reports for payroll purposes

QuickBooks - accounting functions, invoicing, want to be able to assign labor costs and expenses to jobs to determine profitability
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2017, 04:43 AM
Rustler Rustler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas - The Republic
Posts: 2,327
Bill

Don't understand how to assign labor costs to the employee hours being posted to jobs.

Since payroll is already an expense, you need to post cost but not create an additional expense.

This is one way to do it

create an expense account called cost clearing

create a service item called misc job cost, and select the cost clearing asset account in the account block, set the item to non taxable in the tax code block

create a vendor called job cost clearing

Use enter bills, select the job cost clearing vendor
Item Tab
line one: item = misc job cost, qty = 1, enter the amount, select the job, do NOT mark it billable
line two: item = misc job cost, qty = -1 (negative one), enter the amount, do NOT select the job
save the zero dollar bill

With the job open on screen, hit the job profitability report, and the guesstimate cost amount will post to job profitability, and the misc job cost expense account will be zero balance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2017, 08:15 AM
BooksInVA BooksInVA is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 53
"integrated with QuickBooks so time is assigned to Customers/Jobs"

This sounds like it should be happening then. What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.