Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Canada Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2016, 10:22 AM
Partner400 Partner400 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
How to Modify Payment

First I should note that the vast majority of my business is in the US and in my system all transactions are recorded in a single currency and converted to Cdn$ where needed at tax time.

Here's the problem sequence of events.

Invoiced a customer for an amount in US$ amount is recorded under US$ receivables.

Customer paid and check deposited to US$ account thereby clearing outstanding invoice.

Bank subsequently report that the check was actually in Cdn$ and they have moved it to my Cdn account.

Customer sends me an additional check in Cdn$ for the difference.

Since the original invoice has had a payment applied to it how can I set this up so that I can deposit the new check and will still be able to reconcile the Cdn and US banks accounts.

Any advice welcomed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2016, 10:20 AM
Partner400 Partner400 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Just poking this thread in the hope that someone will see it ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2016, 05:44 AM
Rustler Rustler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas - The Republic
Posts: 2,347
back up the file just in case this explodes

delete the US$ dollar deposit, delete the US$ payment - the invoice is now open

receive payments for the original amount in Cdn$, then receive the second payment in Cdn$, deposit both
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2016, 08:53 AM
Partner400 Partner400 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
I thought about that but worried that it would "break" the bank reconciliation and that other amounts deposited as the same time would be cancelled. Guess I can but try.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2016, 06:09 AM
Rustler Rustler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas - The Republic
Posts: 2,347
Yes you will have to redo bank recon's
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.