Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Enterprise Edition Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2016, 12:23 PM
wheat2222 wheat2222 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Profit & Loss By Job Report (QB 2017)

There is a valuable report within QB 2017 reporting that is called the "Profit & Loss By Job Report". The rows are the different revenue or cost items. The columns represent all of the customer jobs you are tracking.

The challenge is that we have 1,000's of Jobs. So, having the jobs be the columns will eventually be an issue. I was wondering if anyone has figured out how to modify the standard report that would allow for the jobs to be listed as rows and the revenue/cost buckets be listed as columns. Or, maybe this has to be some kind of custom report.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks in advance!!
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2016, 06:15 AM
Rustler Rustler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas - The Republic
Posts: 2,365
QB does not allow for the reporting format (rows columns etc) to be changed.

P&L by job has always been in QB, you can access it from the job screen, but it is one by one doing it that way

If you have someone who knows excel, as I understand it, you can export the report and create a pivot table to display things the way you want to.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2017, 01:19 PM
ssm0006 ssm0006 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 13
I have to deal with this crap all of the time. I have well over 700+ jobs a year that I have to transform into a list that has a job on each row instead of each column. To accomplish this I dump the report to a csv file...but QB hasn't kept up with the times and still limits the number of columns you can export from a report to 256 jobs (columns). So you have to split it up using customer types, classes and/or dates..like running a report for the first 6 months and and running a report for the last 6 months. After you've gotten the data out you'll have to merge them back together - and you'll have lots of duplicate job names with different amounts if you split them up by dates. I use Excel 2016's "Get & Transform" with a little VBA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.