Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Enterprise Edition Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2017, 01:20 PM
JTepp JTepp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Job tracking in QB Enterprise

As the Controller at a small printing company, I want to track the revenues and expenses by Job Number. The Customer-Job option does not seem workable so I am planning on doing it by assigning a different class to each new job. Is this the best way of doing it? Also, any suggestions on capturing the various expenses that don't come right from vendor invoices? THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2017, 03:12 PM
uniz uniz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTepp View Post
As the Controller at a small printing company, I want to track the revenues and expenses by Job Number. The Customer-Job option does not seem workable so I am planning on doing it by assigning a different class to each new job. Is this the best way of doing it? Also, any suggestions on capturing the various expenses that don't come right from vendor invoices? THANKS!
customer job or class will work fine but you have to think about the limitation of each type. How many maximum class you can create vs maximum customer job. I'm pretty sure Quickbooks allows to create more customer job than class.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2017, 04:26 AM
Joe Williams Joe Williams is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9,378
The limit in qb is 14500, in enterprise it is 2x that, or 29000.
This count is the total of Customers and customer:jobs.
__________________
Joe Williams
joewilliams@wavelinx.net
Piedmont, Ok
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2017, 12:43 PM
ssm0006 ssm0006 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTepp View Post
As the Controller at a small printing company, I want to track the revenues and expenses by Job Number. The Customer-Job option does not seem workable so I am planning on doing it by assigning a different class to each new job. Is this the best way of doing it? Also, any suggestions on capturing the various expenses that don't come right from vendor invoices? THANKS!
The customer:job option is the best option. I would not do that. The classes were designed to work like Departments or even to segregate different retail store locations or offices in a company from each other on a P&L. I would seriously reconsider what you are considering here. There's an entire series of Job related reports you can run that are already built in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.