Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > Other QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks 3rd Party Software Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2016, 01:26 PM
cecpli cecpli is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Problems Connecting Fishbowl To Quickbooks

Hello,

My company has been using Fishbowl for our inventory management system since the beginning of 2016. For the past month and a half that we have been using it we have had a difficult time keeping the connection between Fishbowl and Quickbooks. Every time we went to export to Quickbooks the connection between the two programs would be broken, and we would have to call Fishbowl to help us reconnect the two programs. This caused a delay in invoicing and generating accurate reports since it took so long for Fishbowl to respond to our phone calls (usually around 6 hours if not the next day).

Because we have a remote server that we previously only had access to through our IT company and setting up and reconnecting Fishbowl requires server access, we also had to call our IT company every time we made these calls to Fishbowl. They had to constantly be on call for our Fishbowl problems. We were told many different reasons why Fishbowl wasn’t connecting to QB, but each time we made an adjustment that seemed to fix the problem and went back the next time to export to QB, the connection would be broken and we would have to start all over again. We have been putting calls in with Fishbowl and our IT company at least twice a week trying to resolve this issue and have become increasingly more frustrated.

Finally we seem to have gotten a straight answer. Each time that our server backs itself up the connection between Fishbowl and QB is broken and the only way to fix it is to manually go onto our server as an administrator and restart the Fishbowl server. We back up our server every other hour, so it’s safe to say that this manual restart will have to happen every time we export to QB. In order to keep the process flowing, I have been given administrative rights to the server, a very unorthodox practice in our company that leaves me liable if there are any issues connected to the server.

I wanted to see if anyone else is having the same difficulty and how they are dealing with this process? Is there any way to fix this so that the Fishbowl server does not need to be manually restarted every time our server backs up? Our main frustration is that we were told that Fishbowl integrates with QB, but from what we’ve experienced it takes a lot of effort to make these two communicate with one another and in the process leaves me liable for a system much greater than Fishbowl. Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2018, 10:07 AM
garlandtech garlandtech is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
fishbowl Quickbooks connection issues

I have just picked up a new client, and they use QB and Fishbowl. I too and having issues with getting the entire thing going the way I think it should work. We have the FB and QB data on a central server, which is also a file server.
The key point being that it is a CENTRAL server in a closet with a locked door (as you should do with your server).

What we have to do currently is:
* Be sure that the server is logged in to a desktop with a user who has admin rights
* Be sure to have the FB "server" running in the systray
* Be sure to have the FB Nexxus Server running in the systray
* Open QB and login as 'Admin'

At this point, any user can run the export into QB from any computer (or the server). What baffles me is that we have to do any of this. I am a network engineer with 25 years experience working with servers of all kinds (Novel, Unix, Linux, and Windows). I have rarely come across a situation where the server has to be logged in running end user programs to make a "multi-user" program work.

We also have some issue with the QB company/installation where the "fishbowl" user, that we have specified in the integration setup is not being used, and we are asked to login with the admin user every time a sync is attempted. Even stranger is that QB starts on the SERVER when you run the sync from a workstation.

I'd love to hear from anyone who is using this, how they did/do it, and if there is any way to have it more seamless. With the current requirement to have to "login" to QB at the server console, that means we have end users unlocking a server console, and typing in stuff, and performing tasks, then locking the console and walking back away - completely counter to what a server is for.....

Thanks
Sean Garland
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2018, 07:11 AM
Krish Krish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 78
Send a message via Skype™ to Krish
Connecting Fishbowl To Quickbooks

Hi,

We are a custom QB API programming company. If you are interested, we can have a call to discuss and fix the export data to QB ( may be we can use a scheduler ). Please let me know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Tags
connection problem, fishbowl inventory, quickbooks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.