Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Enterprise Edition Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:01 PM
JTAlves JTAlves is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 322
Send a message via AIM to JTAlves Send a message via Yahoo to JTAlves
Bill Detail report / export

Is there a way to print or export it to Excel the Detail (Account, Amount, Memo, Customer Job) information for a bill? Or is this another failure of QB's software. I am using 2005 if the ability to do that is not in that version - is it in 2008?
__________________
Jeff
Jeff@Ifdesigninc.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2008, 04:52 AM
Joe Williams Joe Williams is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9,376
Use the Custom Transaction Detail report. Modify it and checl the Source NAme and unchec any columns you do not want to see on the report. Filter it and set Transaction Type=Bill and Deltail Level=All Except Summary.
Once thr report runs you should be able to print it or export it to excel.
__________________
Joe Williams
joewilliams@wavelinx.net
Piedmont, Ok
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2008, 09:05 AM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,870
Jeff - you gripe so much about QB's failings, why don't you dump it and find something better? (just feeling a little bitchy today - maybe it's the endless MN winter and I'm sub-consciously jealous of you being in HI).


It's certainly not a perfect program, but no program is. For the money, it does an amazing amount of stuff.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2008, 06:18 PM
flagship flagship is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwestern U.S.
Posts: 224
Lisa,

> (just feeling a little bitchy today - maybe it's the endless MN winter...

Everyone's entitled, once in a while. Maybe we could work out a weather trade & it would pick up your spirits?

Right now I'd trade the 2" rain we got two days ago, coupled with a "spring thaw in February", for up to 1 foot of snow on frozen Minnesota soil. Here in Missouri, yards and driveways and gravel roads and all else is a soft, mushy mire. So do you have the 1 foot of snow to trade me? ...or are you holding out for time in HI?

This is purely rhetorical; I'm not looking for a reply, just hoping to cheer you up. (In fact I have rarely, if ever, envied a Minnesotan on the basis of their lovely winters...with the possible exception of the general admiration I have for the stoicism it develops in them.)

Mark Wilsdorf
Flagship Technologies, Inc.
QuickBooks™ Add-Ons and Solutions You Can Use
http://www.goflagship.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2008, 11:14 PM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,870
Mark - you got a smile out of me! Reading your post, I have nothing to complain about! Looking forward to -30 windchills coming in this weekend, but at least my feet will be dry (cold, but dry)! LOL

Thanks for the note.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2008, 02:54 PM
JTAlves JTAlves is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 322
Send a message via AIM to JTAlves Send a message via Yahoo to JTAlves
Joe,

Thank you - I was able to generate a report and export the data that I need. You have saved me a nice chunk of time. Now, how does one eliminate some of the fields/columns on that report or any report for that matter (other than the ones they allow you to suppress)?

Now with the time Joe saved me I can respond to Lisa

Lisa, Yeah, I know I grumble a lot. And I really shouldn't since I live in sunny and WARM Hawaii. Actually it has been really cool (55 at night - Brrr) and rainy the last few weeks - we even had snow on the mountains! But about 80 right now and sunny.

Anyway, You are right QBs is a great program for the cost. I do know that Peachtree does some things that QB doesn't but probably doesn't do what QBs does so it's probably a trade off. I am looking at an industry specific program that costs about as much as Enterprise. I gripe because I THINK the things that are missing or wrong in QBs are simple things that a company the size of Intuit really should address like (these are specific to me):

Being able to:
- Globally change things like move all of the time associated to one job to another
- Print a range of invoices by date or invoice number
- Easily import Excel or other files types (I think this is better in 2008?)
- Archive inactive data in an efficient way that significantly reduces the company file size. And now the only way to do it is by date rather than things like "all inactive customers and vendors". I t would be nice to be able to strip that data off and if I ever need it again be able to read it somewhere and not just in a summary view. This is a big one because QB is telling both myself and another person at another company with a similar company file size that the only way I can resolve the slow speed QBs responds with is to move to QBs Enterprise which is a $3k expense. If I could effectively reduce the file size I wouldn't have to spend the $s. I guess in a way I feel like (but I know it's not) its planned obsolescence by QBs.

There area bunch more that I have and I have sent them in to Intuit. Perhaps in a future version they will include some of the things I would like to have. So, I will follow your lead and quit griping, accept the shortcomings, and go relax under a palm tree with a Mai Tai!

Thanks for all of the help you, Joe, and others provide here. I will do what I can as well

Stay warm and dry. Summer is coming!

Aloha
__________________
Jeff
Jeff@Ifdesigninc.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2008, 03:57 PM
Joe Williams Joe Williams is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9,376
Jef
To change the column width, drag the diamond on the right of the column heading to the left. Drag it left past the left diamond to delete the column
Just a thought. If you are going to memorize the report go to modify, then Headre/footer and change the report title. This will let you see and find the memorized report easier.
__________________
Joe Williams
joewilliams@wavelinx.net
Piedmont, Ok
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.