Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Enterprise Edition Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2007, 10:09 PM
Jocelyn_8686 Jocelyn_8686 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Question Setting up new companies QuickBooks Enterprise Solution 7.0

Hi All,

I am new user for Quickbooks.
I need to create at least 6 subsidiary companies.
The problem is:
1. I want to delete some companies as I think I chose inappropriate type of industry.
2. What is the closest type of industry for importer, which only order the products on customer order's basis.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2007, 12:49 AM
lisa_mn's Avatar
lisa_mn lisa_mn is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,870
I personally don't think the particular industry is that critical because you can always customize the chart of accounts however you want it.

The charts of accounts vary mostly in the income and cost of sales area for various industries and you can just delete, add or rename accounts to suit your needs. All the general & administrative expenses are pretty much the same.
__________________
Lisa Peterson
Streamline Consulting, Inc.
Making Accounting Work For You
Minneapolis, MN

QuickBooks Advanced Certified ProAdvisor
Sleeter Group Certified QuickBooks Consultant
Peachtree Certified Consultant
Timeslips Certified Consultant
Fishbowl Inventory Authorized Reseller

Ask me about MiSys Manufacturing add-on for Quickbooks and Peachtree
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2007, 02:56 AM
Jocelyn_8686 Jocelyn_8686 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks for your response. However, I couldn't find the purchase order form, where I can input and create purchase order in some types of industries. Sorry it might sound stupid, but I can find the purchase order in Peachtree easily.
Please explain. Thank you

[QUOTE=lisa_mn;84776]I personally don't think the particular industry is that critical because you can always customize the chart of accounts however you want it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2007, 06:18 AM
JZeiger JZeiger is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
The purchase order form is unrelated to the chart of accounts - you have to enable the Inventory and Purchase Order feature (Edit, Preferences) and then the form is available. The first time you use a PO, QB will add a nonposting account for POs to your chart of accounts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-11-2007, 08:49 PM
Jocelyn_8686 Jocelyn_8686 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JZeiger View Post
The purchase order form is unrelated to the chart of accounts - you have to enable the Inventory and Purchase Order feature (Edit, Preferences) and then the form is available. The first time you use a PO, QB will add a nonposting account for POs to your chart of accounts.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.
You Rated this Thread: