Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Pro Forum

Old 01-01-2018, 10:03 PM

How do I do a simple IRA check/entry in QB??

Hello-

I have been using QB for about 10 years now and feel pretty confident working in it. I am self employed sheet metal guy with just one employee. Last year I started a simple IRA and my CPA helped me do that part through QB. So my question is how to I write myself a check in order to contribute $5500 in my IRA? Also...my company can match that up to 3% of my gross wages correct?

I just need some guidance on how to input this into QB and how to get the money out to take to Edward Jones.

Thank you!
Old 01-02-2018, 06:08 AM

Assuming you are taxed as a sole proprietor or partnership, write the check and use equity drawing as the expense for the check

I have no idea about company match, sorry, but the same expense (equity drawing) would apply
Old 01-02-2018, 06:29 PM

I agree with Rustler, except that I would like a little more information and also to issue a caution.

Assuming you are self-employed, how do you report taxable income? Is it on Schedule C? If not on Schedule C, where is it reported?

Do you even have an employer for you to qualify for that employer making a 3% contribution to your IRA?

I am curious as to what your CPA suggested you do to track your IRA through QuickBooks. An IRA for a self-employed person normally does not go through a sole proprietor's business records. It reduces your taxable income but not your self-employment income.

Of course, you may be incorporated which is a different situation with a differing set of rules regarding IRAs for employers.

Which do you file? Schedule C or some version of form 1120? More information could be helpful.