Advertise here    

QuickBooks Forums      

Go Back   QuickBooks Forums > QuickBooks Software Support > QuickBooks Online Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2018, 05:05 PM
kaylabrianne kaylabrianne is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Question Trying to Reconcile--Deleted Transaction

So I was new to doing the accounting for my brother's business and made some errors by double entering things, etc. at the beginning of the year. I reconciled my accounts in July and it worked fine but a bunch of the entries (included in that reconciliation) I had made were incorrectly allocated or just shouldn't have been entered.
Since then, I've gone through and deleted the incorrect entries and have fixed all the mistakes I could find.

Now, as I try to reconcile, I'm getting the error message and the QB help screen is telling me that I need to recreate the deleted transactions in the register. This doesn't make sense to me because those transactions were deleted for a reason.

Would anyone be able to explain this to me in a way I can wrap my head around?
Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2018, 05:56 AM
Rustler Rustler is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas - The Republic
Posts: 2,386
I have trouble understanding how if an entry should not have been made, or there were double entries, how a recon would work at all.

On the recon did you tell QB to make an adjustment so it would work?

A recon is verifying that transactions in QB are also in the real account (bank, CC etc) So a recon tells QB that those check marked transactions are valid, as a result the recon ending balance is valid. Delete or change the recon'd transaction and the recon balance can no longer be valid, that is why QB is warning you.

You need to undo the recon, get the transactions right, and do the recon again. In QBO to undo a recon there are Two Options to undo a recon in QBO:
1. open the register and double click on the R to remove it, one transaction at a time

2. if you have an accountant who signs in to your QBO account, have him log in and use the accountant tool, undo recon
or
invite yourself as the accountant, create the log in, and log in as the accountant so you can use the accountant tools (use a different email for the invite)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2018, 06:02 PM
kaylabrianne kaylabrianne is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
This was so helpful!! THANK YOU!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Bookmark and Share
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.


 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All contents copyright (c) by AccountingUsers Inc.