PDA

View Full Version : Home Business Startup - How To Enter Out Of Pocket Expenses?

Melissa2006B
07-14-2006, 03:56 PM
I have no bookeeping experience but am working my way through the QB Pro 2006 tutorials and starting to get the hang of this stuff.

What I don't understand yet though, is this:

I'm having to start my home business literally on a shoe string, out of my own pocket. I have to write personal checks and use my own personal credit card to buy things and pay for things ( like the state business license for example ), because the business has had no income yet to pay for it with.

I have no startup loan or anything, I'm poor and on disability at the present.

So how do I enter my expenses into the business account, so that they'll be calculated against any future sales in the profit and loss statements, for tax purposes etc?

I don't see a way to do this yet.

Thanks!

suzannemead
07-14-2006, 05:45 PM
There are 2 things to consider. Is the money to be invested in the business? Is the money a loan to the business? If it is an investment you make a journal entry of a debit (increase) into the expense account the purchase applies to, for instance, Postage. The other side of the entry is a credit (increase) to your Owner's Contribution account, which is an Equity type account. You should create this account and also an Owner's Draw account, which is also an Equity type account. The Draw account is used for money's you remove from the business for your use, which decreases your equity in the business.

Joe Williams
07-15-2006, 01:16 AM
I aggre with Suzanne. However to make the use easier for you, setup a Credit Card account for yourseld and enter Credit Card Charges for things that you purchase for the company. You can then journal the CC account balance to either Owner's Equity or the Loan from Owner at years end.

Joey
07-15-2006, 12:12 PM