PDA

View Full Version : How to handle nsf checks

Tamitha
03-22-2006, 06:11 PM
This is my first time. Nice to know this is here. I can't figure out how to do a check if it is returned nsf from a cutomer.

Joe Williams
03-23-2006, 05:50 AM
You can use the Help in quickbooks to see how to do this or the following:
Create an Other Charge item titled "Bad Check." In the Amount field, leave a zero amount. From the Tax Code list, choose Non. In the Account field, choose your bank account.
Click Next.
Create a second Other Charge item titled "Bad Chk Chrg" for the service charge you assess customers for bounced checks. Use this item when you reinvoice the customer to recover the service charge.
In the Amount field, leave a zero amount.
Create a new invoice with the amount for the returned check in Bad Check and the bank charge for it on the Bad Chk Chrg item.
From the Tax Code list, choose Non.

In the Account field, choose an income account, such as Returned Check Charges. If the account doesn't exist, set it up now.

Specialties Inc
03-23-2006, 06:10 AM
Apart from Joe's suggestion you might want to look at the HELP INDEX [returned cheques].

As I get only about one NFS per year and there is NO bank charge for NFS cheques I get the replacement monies for customer and make an entirely separate deposit for the amount in question with a note on that deposit what it was for. I don't touch the original transaction and I don't enter the replacement $ in QB. It balances my bank acct but don't think an accountant would do it that way. Any comments?

Norbert

Joey
03-23-2006, 11:32 AM
As many of my clients file their taxes on the Cash Basis, I prefer a little different method. Link the RetCheck item directly to the Sales Income account instead of the Checking account. The RetCkFee item can be linked to the Bank Service Charges OR the Reimbursed Expenses Income account.